Scientific Earthquake Studies Advisory Committee (SESAC)

The Scientific Earthquake Studies Advisory Committee (SESAC) was created in 2002 by legislation reauthorizing the National Earthquake Hazards Reduction Program (NEHRP). The SESAC meets several times each year, and provides advice and direction to the USGS Earthquake Hazards Program. The committee's membership and procedures are compliant weith the Federal Advisory Committee Act (FACA).

SESAC Charter (PDF) | Meetings | Annual SESAC Reports


Ralph Archuleta, Chairman
University of California, Santa Barbara

Greg Beroza, Ex Officio
Stanford University

Julie Furr
Chad Stewart and Associates, Inc.

John Parrish
State Geologist, California

Christine Langston Powell
Center for Earthquake Research and Information

David Simpson
Incorporated Research Institutions for Seismology

Terry Tullis, Ex Officio
Brown University